The BotSoc Receives Eco-Logic Certificate

ecologic cert botsocThe Enviropaedia Eco-Logic awards took place on the 17th of September at the Cradle of Humankind, Maropeng, Gauteng. The Eco-Logic Awards have been created to encourage both individual and company consumers to participate in looking after our Planet - through the conscious use of their consumer spending power.

These awards, initiated by Enviropaedia and judged by a panel of highly respected, environmentally aware individuals, investigate a range of products, services and organisations with a view to recognising and rewarding those that have been produced in an eco-logical manner. The Eco-Logic Awards also recognise and reward those individuals, communities and municipalities who are making a significant contribution toward creating an eco-logically sustainable society and environment.

The Botanical Society of South Africa (BotSoc) partner programme with the South African National Biodiversity Institute (SANBI), namely the Custodians of Rare and Endangered Wildflowers (CREW) programme, was recognised as a finalist in the Biodiversity category. BotSoc Executive Director, Zaitoon Rabaney received a certificate for being a finalist of the 2014 Eco-Angel nominees. It’s great to acknowledge the amazing work all finalists are doing and the journeys they have travelled.

The event brought together like-minded thinkers and doers from a number of fields, regions and backgrounds. It was an excellent networking forum and an inspiring day to bear witness to and acknowledge the organisations and individuals committed to the environmental sector of South Africa.

 “We have received a record number of brilliant and inspirational entries to the Eco-Logic Awards this year and today we celebrate the very best of them - organisations and individuals who have the intelligence, foresight, wisdom and maturity to behave in a manner that I describe as being ‘Eco-Logical’” said David Parry-Davies, Publishing Editor of The Enviropaedia.

The 2014 winners are as follows:
The Biodiversity Award (Sponsored by Exxaro)
• North Durban Honorary Officers
The Climate Change Awards (Sponsored by the Department of Environmental Affairs)
• Pick ‘n Pay
 The Eco-Innovation Award (Sponsored by EcoAfrika Coatings)
• City of Cape Town & Shark Spotters
 The Energy Saving Award (Sponsored by NBI)
• Hotel Verde
The Recycling Award (Sponsored by Collect a Can)
• The Wattville Ithuseng Recycling Co-op Ltd.
 The Transport Award (Sponsored by SANRAL)
• Blendwell Chemicals
The Water Conservation Award (Sponsored by TCTA)
The Municipalities Award (Sponsored by Santam)
• City of Cape Town
 The Eco-Community Award (Sponsored by SABC3)
• Miss Earth South Africa
The Eco-Youth Award (Sponsored by Pick n Pay)
• John Lucas
The Eco-Angel Award (Sponsored by Airports Company South Africa)
• Annie Beckhelling
The Eco-Warrior Award (Sponsored by City of Tshwane)
• Kelvin Cochraine
Lifetime Achievement Award (Sponsored by Paarl Media)
• Dr Guy Preston
Congratulations to all the winners.

For more information please see

Additional information